Vacation, Sort of

image

On top of Stone Mountain

I’m not really sure how it happened but I’m busier than usual right now. I’ve been telling myself that once Wildman’s sport seasons were over things would be a little calmer for us, but I think I underestimated.

For the past few weeks I’ve been busy planning a little weekend vacation and a banquet for Wildman’s hockey team the week after. Last week we got away for 4 days. Now when I plan a vacation, I usually pack it full of things to do and places to go. This time I didn’t do that. Part of the reason is because of where we went, which was Stone Mountain, GA. Since we didn’t get a full week off for spring break due to all the snow days the kids had at school this winter we didn’t plan a big, long trip. I wanted to go somewhere fairly close (especially since I knew I’d be doing at least part of the driving on the way) and somewhere that had some woods to go out in. I did some looking and decided Stone Mountain Park fit pretty well.

I’m not sure if it was intentional or not but the location and the time of year lead to a much slower paced vacation than usual, which is probably exactly what we needed. There were some activities for us, we were close enough to Atlanta to catch a hockey game, and there were plenty of trails for hiking. The only problem is that it was too short.

As I mentioned, the weekend after vacation was the hockey team end of the year party. I decided I wanted it to be a big deal, especially since this is Wildman’s last season in the little kid division. I’d already found a place, put Kev in charge of booking it, and ordered trophies and treats. I knew I’d still have some last minute things to get done this week, but I was feeling pretty good about my preparation level.

It hit me after we got home Sunday though, that I have a ton of stuff going on right now. There were all those little details to finalize for the hockey banquet, plus I realized that Wildman’s birthday party still needed planned, I have family coming in town for his birthday and a big presentation at work this week. And thats not even the end of it. The weekend after his birthday is the Cub Scout spring campout. So instead of things calming down as I had thought, I’m actually busier than usual.

I’ve heard the Wildman tell his friends he had to “check his schedule” or that something “isn’t on the list.” I wonder where he’s heard those things…

One response to “Vacation, Sort of

Leave a Reply

