A Little Chance to Breathe

The end of the school year is always the busiest time. Kev had projects and papers, as well as end of the year work to do with his job in the lab. I’m happy to announce that he not only got everything completed, but his final grades reflected all the hard work he put in this semester. I’m very proud of his accomplishments at school, and when you consider all that he’s doing at once with work, family, coaching and then school, it’s all the more impressive.

I’ve been really busy at work lately too, which is challenging and fun. I am a workflow manager  at an advertising agency, so busy is a very good thing. If you’re interested, you can see some of the work we do here. I love working there, and while I’m not involved in the creative process I am surrounded by it every day. The drawback of being so busy is that I’m very tired when I get home. Of course, there is always more to be done and not enough time to do it. On Thursday last week I even had to leave work a little early so that I could go to the school book fair, then to Cub Scouts, then the grocery store, then home to bake cookie and make Chex mix for a fundraising bake sale at work. I guess keeping a schedule like that is one of the reasons I haven’t been very good about keeping up this blog as I would like to.

Another reason I haven’t been keeping up the blog is a lack of attention span. I wonder if my attention is shorter due to all the instant information I take in every day between Twitter and Facebook and having everything at my fingertips with my smartphone. And there is always lack of time. I get home from work around 6pm every evening, either prepare or eat dinner, go over Wildman’s homework and then try to spend a little time with the boys. Oh, and add in that spring hockey is on Wednesday and Friday evenings, and Cub Scouts is on Thursdays…well it’s no wonder I don’t have any time to write!

Enough bellyaching about all that. This has been a fun week, even though it’s be a busy one. Kev is done with classes so he gets a little more rest – which he’s really needed. The school year is winding down for Wildman, so he’s doing some fun stuff at school. And this week we also added to the family and gave Wildman some additional responsibility when we added Macy – an 8 month old Beagle puppy. We got Macy from the wonderful folks at Hickman Humane Society, and she is as sweet as can be. She’s already attached herself to Wildman, and he’s over the moon about her.

Wildman and I were supposed to go home to Ohio for my cousin’s wedding this weekend, but with gas at almost $4 a gallon I just couldn’t do it. I hate to miss an opportunity to celebrate with my family though. As much as I love living in Nashville, I do regret missing out on family events like this. So here’s a shout out to Mikey and Ally – who are about to be wed as I write this. Congrats!

I’m also planning a getaway for Kev and I next weekend – I’ll tell you all about it when we return. Mom is coming to take care of Wildman. Here’s a transcript of the conversation when I told him about the trip:

Me: Daddy and I are going to take a little trip.

WM: Am I going with you?

Me: No, you’re going to stay here. MeMe is coming to stay with you.

WM: (concerned) But who’s going to take care of me?

Me: I said MeMe was coming to take care of you.

WM: But how can she take care of me? We’re not going to be at her house.

I love how children’s minds work. I assured him that it will be alright. I’m still not sure he’s completely convinced MeMe can take care of him here at his house, but I’m sure it will all be fine.

So it will be a typical busy week, getting the house tidied up for our guest, taking care of the new family member, wrapping up Cub Scout projects and preparing for our trip. It’s a crazy life, but so far it works somehow.

One response to “A Little Chance to Breathe

Leave a Reply

