Let’s try this again…

Hello, my name is Tammy and it’s been 42 days since I last updated my blog. That’s bad. I promise myself I’m going to do better. I don’t really have a good excuse why it has been so long other than I just haven’t made the time to do it. The end of the school year was busy, but school’s been out for a couple weeks now. We had a Cub Scout campout the first weekend of June, and then the Wildman had Cub Scout day camp the first full week of the month, but that is all past now and the calmest time of the year is finally here. Even though I don’t get a summer break like Kev and Wildman do, my life is still much simpler now.

Kev and I did have a very lovely trip to Beaufort, SC and Savannah, GA at the end of May. It was so nice to get away. Thanks so much to my mom for coming down and staying with the Wildman for us. It was much needed, and the lowcountry is amazing. I loved the trees and the old houses with their hand-made window glass. It was so peaceful and serene. It was also hot. As much as this girl loves the South, my body is still much more comfortable in a northern or midwestern climate.  Despite the heat, I really enjoyed the trip.

So now we are in the time of year that things move a little slower. Kev doesn’t have classes to go to or projects to work on. He still works at the college but only one or two days a week. Wildman is out of school so there is no homework. Cub Scouts still has some summer activities but not weekly meetings. And we’re even on a break from hockey right now. So life seems a little easier. There’s no rushing from one place to another. I can get to work early if I like and have a little more time to get things done.

I admit I’ve been lazy at home, so I’m kicking it into gear this week and getting laundry done, stocking the fridge and who knows what else. I’ve been preparing for Cub Scouts this fall as I will be the Wildman’s Wolf Cub den leader. I’m really excited about this because I really believe in Scouting and the great opportunities it provides to kids. That is something I want to concentrate on this summer. I also have made it my goal for the summer to do start a Cub Scout scrapbook for the Wildman. I have tons of scrapbook stuff and always have good intentions of making wonderful keepsakes for myself and my family, but I never seem to find the time to actually do it. This one I will do. It isn’t doing a full scrapbook, just a few spreads, and I was fortunate to get a lot of materials on sale recently so once I get photos printed I’ll be ready to go. Now to get inspired to go through the hundreds of photos we shot this year…

I’ll keep you posted. For now I’ve got a couple loads of laundry to finish while I watch the 2nd round of the NHL draft (yes, I’m that much of a hockey geek.) Have a great weekend and I WILL write again soon!

3 responses to “Let’s try this again…

  • Susan

    I agree it is so hard to find complete downtime-even in the summer! I find I let the house go and meals become simpler so we can spend a little more time having fun! Remember to give yourself permission to slow down and enjoy the family!!

  • noone

    Glad you are in a “slow” mode. Enjoy it while you can. It won’t last long 😉

  • Ellen

    Even when you’re not busy, you sure sound pretty busy to me. Hope you have a great summer filled with all the thinks you want to do.

Leave a Reply

