Sometimes you just have to disconnect.

If you’ve ever read my blog, you know that we’re always going a mile a minute. This week has been no different. We’re getting into the swing of it all again: work, school, hockey, Scouts and whatever else comes along. Because we’re so busy, I depend on my computer and phone for just about everything. I know I’ve mentioned how I can’t live without my Google calendar, so when I got an Android phone it was the Best. Thing. EVER. There it all is, in the palm of my hand – email, calendar, Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, the internet. Instant access no matter where I am. Now my life is fully organized, right? What could be better for an insanely busy working mom always on the go? I never have to miss a work email, Preds news update or cute picture on Facebook again!

Well, when we went on our family trip during Spring Break, all that “connected-ness” got me in a little trouble with the family. When I was checking work emails while walking around the amusement park or playing putt-putt golf, Kev got a little upset with me. (It’s all his fault since he bought the phone for me, right? He didn’t exactly agree.) Wildman would get a bit ill when I wasn’t keeping up fast enough because I was updating Twitter. So I tried to do better for the rest of the trip.

This week I read an article about “disconnecting” and it hit me like a ton of bricks – I’m going to be forced to be disconnected this weekend. I’m going to leadership training for Scouts and I am not allowed to even bring my phone. I won’t be able to text and check on the Wildman staying with Mamaw Patty or see what my nieces are posting on Facebook. I won’t be able to make sure Kev wakes up and goes to work on time. I will be completely isolated from the outside world, and I’ll tell you, it’s a bit unnerving.

I know why they prohibit our phones. It’s so that we’ll be listening more and engaging with the other people at the training. I’ll probably get to know people better than I would if I had the opportunity to be distracted. So while it’s frightening to think I won’t be able to check on everything at the swipe of a finger, it’s a little freeing to think I’ll be unfettered for a few days.

I know that it’s good for me. I know Wildman is in good hands. Kev is a big boy and will have to take care of himself. The world will keep turning even if I’m not privy to every little update. Will I wonder what’s going on with the hurricane headed toward my favorite vacation spot?

Of  course I will. But I know that I will be more focused on the experience at hand. The last camping trip Wildman and I went on with the Scouts was to Land Between the Lakes, and there was little cell coverage and even less data service. I still carried my phone in my pocket most of the time “just in case” I got a message, but for the most part I didn’t think about what was going on at home or at work and instead focused on my boy and the fun we were having. It was nice to connect him a little more and the rest of the world a little less. So yes, sometimes you have to disconnect in order to really connect with the world around you.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

