Starting all over again

I really had no idea it had been so long since I posted a blog. The truth is, I’ve thought about it quite a few times – so many, in fact, that I think I convinced myself I had posted some of them. And they were really good, too. Great, I dare say. There was the one about Thanksgiving, and the excellent one about the Christmas tree. Oh and that other one about the family…

Of course all of those would be outdated now, and I’m sure I wouldn’t be able to write them as well now as I did in my head a few weeks ago. So instead I’m starting over. It’s a new year and while our routine is about to settle back into the “normal” chaos this week, it is a time of new beginnings, right?

Actually, this time of year isn’t a new beginning for us. We’re in the middle of both Wildman and Kev’s school years and hockey season. We’ve had a nice change of pace for a couple of weeks with the holidays, but starting tomorrow we’ll be doing the same things we were doing 3 weeks ago. That doesn’t mean the beginning of the year is insignificant though. It is a good time to make a point to start things, or rather, start things over. Like this blog. My healthier eating. Planning meals ahead of time and living within our budget. Cleaning the house more often.

Ok, so maybe it is a little of a fresh start. But while January 1 may not be a big, new beginning for us, 2012 will likely be a pretty significant year. There will be a presidential election, an Olympic games, and it’s a leap year. Kev will turn 45 and I’ll have a milestone birthday of my own. There is the potential that the world is going to end, although I’m not really planning for it. Oh, and a little event in the spring in which Kev will graduate from college.

Beyond that little event, I’m not exactly sure what life is going to throw our way. That may be the actual “New year/New beginning” time for us. But right now we don’t know. And really, I don’t have too much time to think about it at this moment because tomorrow is back to school and hockey practice, and there’s Den meetings on Thursday and hockey practice and games on Friday and Saturday. And I don’t have anything planned for dinner.

So while I’m starting over on a few things, I’ll continue along with all the usual things as well. I hope your new year isn’t more than you can handle, and that it brings you some laughter and fun along the way. That’s what I’m wishing for my new year as well.

Leave a Reply

